And so it begins…

It all started with 50 Shades of Grey.

While I hate to admit that anything good in my life began because of that book, it’s true. I’d heard so much about the thing, most of it bad, but I thought hey, at the very least it should be entertaining to read, right? I’ve always been a fan of reading bad fanfiction for my own amusement, especially since my first forays into writing had been bad fanfiction (most of which you can still find online, if you’re ever curious). My friend sent me the EPub files for all three 50 Shades of Grey books, and I began reading them, not sure what I would find.

What I found was a horrifying assault on the very nature of writing and, as a soon-to-be Graduate of the Fiction Writing Program at Columbia College Chicago, I was not amused.

I started liveblogging the books on Tumblr, and am now moving said posts to this blog, specifically so we can all have a well-informed discussion on why books like the 50 Shades trilogy are awful, and why we should all turn a critical eye to the kinds of literature we’re reading and selling and buying.

There will be gifs. There will be quite a bit of swearing. There will be really uncomfortable sex scenes that are poorly written. Hopefully we’ll all get a good laugh out of it. Maybe.

And so, let us begin at the beginning, with the very first “book” in the trilogy, 50 Shades of Grey.

Hopefully these liveblogs will spare you some of the pain of having to read said “books” yourselves.

Leave a Reply

