Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades of Grey: Chapter 7 [part 3]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs/images used in this post (or any other for that matter). If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

Kate said he was dangerous; she was so right. How did she know? He’s dangerous to my health, because I know I’m going to say yes. And part of me doesn’t want to. Part of me wants to run screaming from this room and all it represents.

MAYBE YOU SHOULD LISTEN TO THAT PART OF YOURSELF.

If you’re doubting it at all, YOU PROBABLY SHOULDN’T DO IT.

YOU SHOULD PROBABLY GO BACK HOME AND MAKE OUT WITH KATE AND DATE HER AND MARRY HER BECAUSE SHE’S A BABE AND ALSO MAYBE IF YOU DATE HER YOU WON’T END UP DEAD IN A GUTTER AT THE HANDS OF CHRISTIAN GREY.

“I’m not going to hurt you, Anastasia.” His gray eyes implore, and I know he speaks the truth.

calling bullshit

He has a room in his penthouse that is LITERALLY BUILT TO HURT YOU.

SOMEHOW I DOUBT THAT HE SPEAKS THE TRUTH.

And then Christian shows Ana the room that would be “her room” if she agrees to do this. Apparently she would sleep in there Friday through Sunday, because she wouldn’t be allowed to sleep with him in his bed.

That’s…romantic.

This is what I cannot reconcile. Kind, caring Christian, who rescues me from inebriation and holds me gently while I’m throwing up into the azaleas, and the monster who possesses whips and chains in a special room.

Okay, while I agree that he’s fucked up and is a scary dude, having whips and chains does NOT make him a monster. If he’s a monster, it’s because he seems to think that it doesn’t matter what the women want in the relationship because all they should want is to make him happy. That’s not okay. Having whips and chains? Totally acceptable, as long as he only uses them on willing participants.

Christian then insists that they go downstairs and Ana eats something, and when Ana says she’s not hungry, he still insists that she eat, because he’s weird as hell about food and apparently he thinks he knows better than Anastasia who is a silly woman who can’t take care of herself.

This is the worst date ever.

“You mentioned paperwork.”
“Yes.”
“What paperwork?”
“Well, apart from the NDA, a contract saying what we will and won’t do. I need to know your limits, and you need to know mine. This is consensual, Anastasia.”

Really? It doesn’t sound particularly consensual, Christian. Also, all the contracts in the world don’t mean shit if Ana decides in the bedroom that she no longer wants to do this. If she says no, you have to stop, and to be honest I’m not 100% sure you’ll stop, you creepy fuck.

“But we won’t have any sort of relationship?” I ask.
“No.”
“Why?”
“This is the only sort of relationship I’m interesting in.”

I think that’s supposed to be “interested.”

Either way

HOW ROMANTIC.

TWUE WUV.

They sit down and he demands that she eat, because he’s ridiculous, and they start talking about his relationship history.

Apparently he’s had 15 submissives, some of them for long periods of time.

“Have you ever hurt anyone?”
“Yes.”
Holy shit.
“Badly?”
“No.”
“Will you hurt me?”
“What do you mean?”
“Physically, will you hurt me?”
“I will punish you when you require it, and it will be painful.”

WHY HAS HE STILL NOT MENTIONED THE FACT THAT THERE’S A SAFEWORD INVOLVED AND THAT IF SHE WANTS HIM TO STOP ALL SHE HAS TO DO IS SAY THE SAFEWORD AND HE’LL STOP?

Oh, probably because there IS no safeword because he’s a giant pile of shit. How delightful.

And this is the man that so many thousands of women are obsessed with. Jesus.

Then he reveals that he’s been beaten, and I guess we’re just supposed to assume he means in a sexual situation, because Ana doesn’t even question it or wonder if he means that he’s been beaten in an abusive way, but whatever.

Oh, good.

Now we get a giant list of “rules.”

annoyed quinn

I need a new post for this.

Leave a Reply

