Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades of Grey: Chapter 11 [part 3]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs/images used in this post (or any other for that matter). If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

After emailing Christian, Ana takes a shower and goes to work.

At 11, José calls and asks if they can get coffee, which Ana agrees to for some unfathomable reason.

José is punctual. He comes bounding into the shop like a gamboling dark-eyed puppy.
“Ana,” he smiles his dazzling toothy all-Hispanic-American smile, and I can’t be angry with him anymore.

Gambol? Are you serious?

Also WHY CAN’T YOU BE ANGRY WITH HIM ANYMORE.

“You basically assaulted me in the parking lot and refused to let go of me or stop kissing me even after I asked you to, and then you made me feel guilty for spending time with a guy who isn’t you, but you just smiled at me so OF COURSE I forgive you.”

urge to kill rising

After their coffee date, Ana goes back to work and then goes home. Once home, she checks her email and finds another email from Christian, because apparently he can’t call or text her for some reason, asking if she had a good day at work.

Ugh they start flirting and alluding to their sexy times and Christian sends a winky-face.

Ughhhhh I’m going to vomittttt.

And then Christian says to go research, and Ana asks what she should start with, and he tells her to start with Wikipedia?

HOW

THE

FLYING

FUCK

DID YOU MAKE IT THROUGH COLLEGE WITH AN ENGLISH MAJOR WITHOUT LEARNING HOW TO DO RESEARCH.

WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU.

I DON’T UNDERSTAND.

NOTHING MAKES ANY SENSE AND I HATE THIS BOOK SO FUCKING MUCH RIGHT NOW.

GOD DAMN EVERYTHING.

So then she goes and researches some stuff, and then this happens:

I sit staring at the screen, and part of me, a very moist and integral part of me – that I’ve only become acquainted with very recently, is seriously turned on.

tgs puke gif

Gross, man.

-End of Chapter Eleven-

Another chapter over!

I thought it was going to be much longer, but that contract and those emails took up so much page-space that everything probably could have been condensed down to half the length.

I’m still upset about the idea of having a contract to govern your interpersonal relationships. It all seems very silly.

And, as I’ve said before, all the contracts in the world can’t equal consent. If they start doing some of these things, and Ana says no at any point, and Christian keeps going, that’s called rape, no matter how many things she’s signed.

I mean, I get that there are contracts in things like Marriage, but those contracts are governing your property, not your relationship.

You can’t dictate someone’s emotions. People change their minds, change how they feel, change what they want, and they do that so quickly that all the contracts in the world couldn’t keep up with it.

I mean, if you want to try having a contract with your partner, that’s fine, but it should be something MUTUALLY AGREED UPON, not something that one person comes up with and the other person is just expected to sign.

Also, this contract is putting a lot of pressure on Ana to do things that she’s not entirely comfortable with.

Ugh. I just have so many problems with this book, I don’t even know where to start.

See you Monday!

And remember, if you have any questions (anonymous or otherwise), feel free to utilize the CaitlinLiveblogs tumblr! There’s a link at the top of the page under “Got Questions?” I’ll be out of town this weekend, so I won’t be able to answer any, but I’ll answer any questions you’ve got on Monday!

 

Leave a Reply

