Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades of Grey: Chapter 13 [part 2]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs/images used in this post (or any other for that matter). If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

Ana finishes packing her apartment and goes to sleep. Oh, she also calls her step-dad Ray, but nothing important is said about the conversation.

The next day, Ana goes to work, where she is followed around by the store owner’s brother, Paul, who has asked Ana for a date every single time he’s seen her. We’ve seen him before, I don’t remember what chapter.

“Paul, for the hundredth time, I have a date this evening.”
“No, you don’t, you’re just saying that to avoid me. You’re always avoiding me.”

fuck you aquaman

If she wants to avoid you, she has that right. She’s not obligated to go on a date with you, you raging river of dicks.

ALSO WHAT THE FUCK. IF SHE SAYS SHE HAS A DATE, JUST ACCEPT THAT SHE HAS A DATE.

WHY IS EVERY DUDE IN THIS STORY SUCH AN ASSHOLE.

WHY.

So Paul keeps bugging Ana about who her date is with, and she finally tells him it’s Christian Grey. Apparently that’s enough to make him leave her alone, and he ignores her for the rest of the day.

Ana goes home, takes a shower, borrows one of Kate’s dresses to wear, and leaves.

She meets Christian at the hotel bar, and he’s looking beautiful and angelic, as he always is, because he’s apparently an angel from heaven or whatever, and they go find a table.

Ana cuts to the chase pretty quickly, and brings up the contract. There’s a bunch of boring dialogue about it where nothing really interesting is discussed and they just talk about how the contract isn’t legally binding and all that stuff.

“Relationships like this are built on honesty and trust,” he continues. “If you don’t trust me – trust me to know how I’m affecting you, how far I can go with you, how far I can take you – if you can’t be honest with me, then we really can’t do this.”

ru paul this

ACCURATE. SO SO SO ACCURATE.

THANK YOU CHRISTIAN GREY FOR ACTUALLY SAYING SOMETHING ACCURATE ABOUT BDSM RELATIONSHIPS.

Except I do want to point out one thing…

YOU SHOULDN’T NEED A GODDAMNED CONTRACT TO PROVE THAT YOU TRUST SOMEONE.

TRUST IS BUILT FROM COMMUNICATION AND RESPECT AND HONESTY. IT IS BUILT FROM SPENDING TIME WITH SOMEONE AND GETTING TO KNOW THEM.

UUUGHHHH.

[side note: it is now raining. and thundering. and I hate thunderstorms. SO THIS IS FUN.]

They then start talking about Christian’s former submissives, and his relationship with them, how he met them, stuff like that. Then Christian asks if Ana is hungry, and when she says “No,” he, like always, demands that she eat.

“You have to eat, Anastasia. We can eat down here or in my suite. What would you prefer?”
“I think we should stay in public, on neutral ground.”
He smiles sardonically.
“Do you think that would stop me?” he says softly, a sensual warning.

are you kidding me

 

WHAT THE FUCK.

Is it just me, or did Christian Grey just THREATEN TO RAPE ANA IN PUBLIC.

OH WOW, CHRISTIAN GREY IS JUST SO ROMANTIC. I’M DEFINITELY NOT HORRIFIED BY HIM OR ANYTHING. WOW PERFECT MAN. A+.

sarcasm sherlock

Christian then leads Ana to the private dining area he’s rented for the night, probably so he can be a creepy motherfucker in private rather than in public. Ugh. I hate him so much.

They sit down and order (or rather, Christian tells Ana that he’s already ordered for both of them, because Ana can’t be trusted to make her own decisions I guess) and begin discussing Ana’s issues one by one.

Christian is surprisingly agreeable, and agrees to most of the things Ana has pointed out.

They then eat oysters in a ridiculously sexual way, because everything has to be sexual with these two, and they can’t just sit down and have dinner and talk like normal people, but whatever.

“I want you to know that as soon as you cross my threshold as my submissive, I will do what I like to you. You have to accept that and willingly. That’s why you have to trust me. I will fuck you, any time, any way I want – anywhere I want. I will discipline you, because you will screw up. I will train you to please me.”

WOW CHRISTIAN, SO GLAD YOU’RE SO CONCERNED WITH WHAT ANA WANTS/NEEDS. GOOD JOB. A+ MAN, YET AGAIN.

“There’s a very fine line between pleasure and pain, Anastasia. They are two sides of the same coin, one not existing without the other. I can show you how pleasurable pain can be. You don’t believe me now, but this is what I mean about trust. There will be pain, but nothing that you can’t handle. Again, it comes down to trust. Do you trust me, Ana?”
Ana!
“Yes, I do.” I respond spontaneously, not thinking…because it’s true…I do trust him.

Another thing Christian got right. For people in BDSM relationships, especially the submissive, pain is pleasure, and pleasure is pain, to varying degrees.

Although I HIGHLY, HIGHLY doubt that Ana actually trusts him. It seems like she’s terrified of him, so she says the things he wants to hear.

What a lovely basis for a relationship that is.

 

Leave a Reply

