Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades of Grey: Chapter 19 [part 2]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs/images used in this post (or any other for that matter). If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

Ana begins ruminating on the kinky sex from earlier in the day.

Would I do it again? I can’t even pretend to put up an argument against that. Of course I would, if he asked me – as long as he didn’t hurt me and if it’s the only way to be with him.

“Of course I would sleep with him again…provided that he completely change who he is and what his preferences are and our relationship changes completely.”

He’s going to hurt you, Ana. He likes hurting women. That’s what he does. He’s said it himself. He wants to hurt you. You’re either okay with that, or you’re not. There is no middle ground.

And why are you so willing to settle for things you’re not okay with, just to be with him? I mean, I get it, he has The One Dick To Rule Them All, but he’s also violent, stalkerish, controlling, and quite frankly, scary as fuck. Is good sex really worth being constantly terrified of your partner?

They arrive at Christian’s parents house, meet his mom, Grace, and his dad, Carrick, and finally meet his younger adoptive sister Mia.

Mia seems…annoying. She seems very loud and screechy and likes hugging people she’s just met for absolutely no reason. That’s not necessarily a problem, but since I’m predisposed to dislike every character in this book, I’m already not a fan of her.

Okay, maybe that’s not fair of me. I just don’t like how none of the characters in this book seem like actual people. They’re all stereotypes. No one has any actual character flaws, or if someone DOES have a character flaw (like the fact that Christian is a sexist, creepy fuck), it’s treated as not a big deal, or sometime it’s even supposed to seem charming and sweet, like when Christian saved Ana from José assaulting her at the bar by STALKING HER.

Ana realizes that Christian only invited her to this dinner because Elliot invited Kate, and Christian knew that Kate would tell Ana, and he didn’t want that to happen for some reason, so he invited Ana himself.

What a great relationship you two have.

“Sit,” he commands, pointing to the plush couch, and I do as I’m told, carefully crossing my legs. He sits down beside me but doesn’t touch me.

khaleesi rolling eyes

What the fuck, is she a fucking dog? Why not just ask her to sit down, asshole.

Then Christian’s parents start asking Ana the typical parent questions, what are your plans after college, blah blah blah. Ana reveals, quite to everyone’s surprise (including mine) that she’s planning on taking a few days off and going to Georgia to visit her mom, and is leaving tomorrow.

Christian is understandably surprised and a little bit upset, but seems very creepy about it and I wouldn’t be surprised if he murdered her tonight to stop her from going.

“Ana deserves a break,” [Kate] says pointedly at Christian. Why is she so antagonistic towards him? What is her problem?

HER PROBLEM IS PROBABLY THE FACT THAT CHRISTIAN IS CREEPY AND ABUSIVE AND CRUEL AND OFTEN QUITE MEAN TO KATE’S BEST FRIEND.

ANA YOU ARE SO DUMB.

“This conversation is not over,” he whispers threateningly as we enter the dining room.

Wow, that sounds a lot like something someone would say before the murder someone.

[can you tell that I really want this to turn into a crime novel about a murder, rather than being about a dysfunctional relationship from hell?]

“Please don’t be mad at me,” I whisper.
“I’m not mad at you.”

WOW THAT’S THE LIE OF THE CENTURY.

I stare at him. He sighs.
“Yes, I am mad at you.”

Thank you. Be honest, jesus.

Then Kate brings up the fact that Ana went out to the bar with José, which doesn’t help Ana at all. Way to go, Kate. I get that you want to piss of Christian, but pissing off Christian means he’s going to take it out on Ana. What a delightfully toxic relationship they have.

“Palm-twitchingly mad,” he whispers. “Especially now.” His tone is quiet and deadly.

YUP. THIS CHAPTER IS GOING TO END WITH A MURDER.

He places his hand on my knee – his fingers traveling up my thigh. My whole body tightens in response. No…not here, not now. I flush and shift, trying to pull away from him. His hand clamps down on my thigh, stilling me. I reach for my wine, in desperation.

Jesus christ. This is the creepiest relationship ever.

Then Christian says he’s going to give Ana a tour of the backyard?

“Where are we going?” I breathe.
“Boathouse,” he snaps.

WOW.

SO MUCH MURDER.

SO LITTLE TIME.

Christian then picks Ana up over his shoulder. How…charming.

“Why?” I sound breathless, bouncing on his shoulder.
“I need to be alone with you.”
“What for?”
“Because I’m going to spank and then fuck you.”

Oh. Good. No murder, just sex in the backyard of his parents house.

Jeez, you couldn’t even wait until you got home?

-End of Chapter Nineteen-

Christian just gets creepier and creepier as this book progresses. Jesus.

Leave a Reply

