Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades of Grey: Chapter 21 [part 2]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs/images used in this post (or any other for that matter). If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

While eating breakfast, they don’t talk, because they never actually talk, or do anything other than have sex all over the place.

I peek up at him.
“What it is, Anastasia?” [I’m assuming this is a typo in my file. Please, god, let that be a typo.]
“You know, you never did tell me why you don’t like to be touched.”
He blanches, and his reaction makes me feel guilty for asking.
“I’ve told you more than I’ve ever told anybody.” His voice is quiet as he gazes at me impassively.

Okay, so that’s kind of sweet and sad and all but…um…doesn’t he have a psychiatrist? That he sees regularly? That has been mentioned before in this book? Shouldn’t he have told his psychiatrist?

Or maybe he hasn’t and that’s why his psychiatrist hasn’t done anything to help Christian not be a controlling douchebag.

They tell each other that they’ll miss each other and then kiss.

And then we get a cut scene? I guess we don’t get a scene of them saying goodbye? That’s…cool?

Suddenly Ana is waiting for her second interview of the day, at Seattle Independent Publishing. She’s waiting for a Mr. J. Hyde, which is in no way an ominous name… J. Hyde? Really? Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, anyone? I can’t decide if I want this guy to be a creepy horrible villain or if I want him to be a really really nice guy and his name is just a red herring.

We shall see.

Ugh and now we get the typical Anastasia Steele commentary about the interior design of this lobby. This isn’t HGTV or the DIY network. I don’t give a flying fuck about the “two dark green chesterfield couches made of leather”.

Oo, but the receptionist is african-american which is only the second Person of Color I’ve seen in this whole book, the first being José. Hurray for sneaky racism! And by hurray I mean fuck this book.

Ana finally is called in for her interview.

At the head of the maple conference table [why do we care that it’s made of maple wood. seriously.] sits a young man with red hair tied in a ponytail. Small, silver, hooped earrings glint in both his ears. He wears a pale blue shirt, no tie, and grey flannel trousers.

Okay, seriously, is Mr. Jack Hyde a pirate? Because he sounds an awful lot like a pirate.

Also how can she see what pants he’s wearing if he’s sitting behind a conference table…?

Hurray for inconsistent vantage point!

Also, who gives a fuck what he’s wearing!

Kill me.

“So why would you like to intern for us at SIP, Ana?” he asks.
He says my name softly and cocks his head to one side, like someone I know – it’s unnerving. Doing my best to ignore the irrational wariness he inspires, I launch into my carefully prepared speech, conscious that a rosy flush is spreading across my cheeks.

benji does not want

So…he…reminds you of Christian, and you’re wary of him?

HMM.

MAYBE YOU SHOULD BE WARY OF CHRISTIAN TOO.

WHAT A CONCEPT.

Also, judging by that paragraph and how creepy Jack Hyde is being, I’m going to take a wild guess and say that his name is not a coincidence and he’s going to do something real creepy soon.

And then Ana just…gets the job.

Apparently it’s that easy to get publishing jobs. Just one interview right out of college and BOOM full-time paid internship. I must just be doing it wrong!

Hah.

Hah hah hah.

Anyway, Ana gets home and tells Kate about her interviews and whatever, and then scolds Kate again for antagonizing Christian and saying things that made Christian jealous at dinner the other night.

“Look, if he wasn’t Elliot’s brother I’d have said a lot worse. He’s a real control freak. I don’t know how you stand it.”

yes signs

GREAT NOW BREAK UP WITH CHRISTIAN AND KATE BREAK UP WITH ELLIOT AND THEN THE TWO OF YOU GET MARRIED FOREVER.

“Look, Ana, if something’s wrong, you will tell me, I won’t judge. I’ll try to understand.”

AWW.

Their friendship is really cute sometimes.

Now kiss.

Then Kate tells Ana to tell Christian how she feels and Ana is all OMG WHAT NO I CAN’T. Which is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS.

Ugh if you can’t tell the person you’re with how you feel, there is something wrong.

Kate goes to pick up Chinese food and Ana goes to email Christian to tell him about her interviews, because apparently a phone call is just out of the question.

Kate then drives Ana to the airport (weird time jump? I’m not really sure what time it even is so idk).

Still not sure how Ana bought her ticket, but she did, and when she has her ticket checked, the attendant, or whatever his job title is, tells her that she’s been upgraded to first class.

I’m assuming this is courtesy of Christian Grey, the nosiest bastard I’ve ever encountered.

Damn Christian Grey, interfering control freak – he just can’t leave well enough alone.

I’m glad Ana at least shares my views on that subject, although I know her well enough by now to know that she won’t ever act on it or tell him off or break up with him or really do anything about any of her negative feelings towards Christian (of which there are many).

Ugh.

-End of Chapter Twenty-One-

So now Ana is off to Georgia to visit her mom.

A whole 3 days without Christian.

[how much do you want to bet Christian shows up anyway]

See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

