Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades of Grey: Chapter 24 [part 3]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs/images used in this post (or any other for that matter). If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

So after breakfast, which Christian pays for, because he’s a sexist douchebag who doesn’t think Ana is capable of paying for food and/or thinks that by having food bought for you, you automatically become a weak little woman, they go back to Ana’s mom’s house.

Of course he doesn’t ask me for my mother’s address. He knows it already, stalker that he is. When he pulls up outside the house, I don’t comment. What’s the point?

The point is that he’s a fucking stalker and you shouldn’t be with him because he’s a creepy sexist asshole WHO IS ALSO A MASSIVE STALKER.

But apparently that’s not a deal breaker for Miss Steele.

Christian says he can’t come in because he has to go do business shit, so they kiss and he leaves.

Ana says hi to her mom, and offers to cook dinner that night, but Carla refuses. Apparently Ana thinks her mother’s cooking is largely awful, something she wouldn’t wish on someone she hates, which makes her think of Mrs. Robinson again, because Ana can’t go 5 minutes without hating a woman she’s never even met.

Ana and Christian start emailing back and forth again. I’ll spare you the details, they’re stupid and annoying, like most of their flirty email bullshit.

We find out through these stupid emails that Ana talks in her sleep, which I’m assuming will turn out to be a big deal or something. Christian refuses to tell her what she’s said though, although he says he may tell her that night when he sees her.

Carla has decided to make gazpacho soup (which is delicious) and steaks on the barbecue.

Bob has volunteered to man the BBQ grill. What is it about men and fire?

Yeah, because women never grill things. Ever. Because that would just be silly.

seriously black widow

Ana is helping her mom cook when she gets a phonecall. Apparently she’s gotten the job that she interviewed for, and she is now the assistant to Mr. Jack Hyde, the super creepy ginger man from a few chapters back, in chapter 21. I definitely don’t think that will end up being a problem in the near future or anything.

After Ana hangs up, she gets another phone call, this time from Christian.

“I have to return to Seattle. Something’s come up. I am on my way to Hilton Head now. Please apologize to your mother – I can’t make dinner.” He sounds very businesslike.
“Nothing serious, I hope?”
“I have a situation which I have to deal with. I’ll see you Friday. I’ll send Taylor to collect you from the airport if I can’t come myself.” He sounds cold. Angry even. But for the first time, I don’t immediately think it’s me.

Well. Shit. Something is actually happening in the plot and I am confused. I’m having actual feelings about the plot, and actual suspense is happening? What?!

Also, pro-tip: if, whenever your significant other is angry, you assume it’s at you, maybe you should dump his or her ass.

Just saying.

Later, Ana is laying by the pool with her mom, worrying about Christian. Somehow she gets it in her head that the “situation” he has to return to Seattle for has something to do with Mrs. Robinson/Elena, and Ana seems to be under the impression that Christian is going to go cheat on her or something. This girl has some wicked self esteem issues, seriously.

There’s a time jump, and suddenly Ana is going to bed, and she still hasn’t heard from Christian. She emails him (instead of calling him?) to see if he made it back safe. He emails back saying that yes, he landed safely, and he thinks it’s sweet that she’s worried about him.

Christian says the “situation” is still not resolved, but he won’t say what it is. Ana doesn’t seem too worried about it anymore. They send more stupid flirty emails back and forth, with Ana asking what she’s said in her sleep and Christian saying he won’t tell her because he wants to hear it from her when she’s conscious?

$20 says she said she loves him. No. $100. I’m almost positive that’s what this is leading towards. E.L. James is not very subtle.

-End of Chapter Twenty-Four-

Only two more chapters, y’all!

I hope you’re as excited as I am for this book to be done, oh my goodness.

And after that, only two more to go!

How…encouraging. I’m sure the next two books can’t be any worse than this one.

Hah.

Hahaha.

Funny joke.

See you Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

