Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades Darker: Chapter 10 [Part 2]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs used in this post. If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

Oh for the love of god.

“You have no reason to be jealous, Christian. You own me body and soul.”

THAT’S NOT THE REASON WHY HE SHOULDN’T BE JEALOUS.

HE SHOULDN’T BE JEALOUS BECAUSE HE SHOULD FUCKING TRUST YOU ENOUGH TO KNOW THAT YOU’RE NOT GOING TO GO BANG HIS GODDAMNED HEAD OF SECURITY. HE LECTURES YOU ABOUT TRUST ALL THE GODDAMNED TIME BUT HE CAN’T TRUST YOU NOT TO FUCK EVERY GUY YOU TALK TO?

Look, I get it, being in relationships is scary, and as a veteran of being cheated on, it can be really hard to trust people. But if you can’t trust that person, you shouldn’t be dating them. If you can’t trust people because of past experiences, you probably shouldn’t be dating ANYONE until you can figure that stuff out.

Here’s how that conversation could have gone:

“Ana, when you talk to other guys like that it makes me uncomfortable. It seems like you’re flirting with them.”
“That wasn’t my intention, I was just making a joke and being nice. Taylor seems like a nice guy, and he’s good at his job. I’d like to be friends with him.”
“I get nervous about you being friends with other guys because I’m worried that you’ll leave me. I know that’s not fair to you, but I just get worried.”
“I’m not going to leave you. I love you. I’m sorry if it makes you uncomfortable when I’m friendly to other guys. It’s never my intention to flirt, I just talk like that to everyone. Besides, Taylor knows well enough that I’m in love with you. He knows I don’t mean anything by it, as do all of my guy friends. If they ever make any moves on me, I’ll be sure to tell them to back off, and I’ll also tell you about it. Until that happens, you’ll have to trust me. Please try not to be so jealous, okay?”
“You’re right, I’m sorry.”

BOOM. DONE.

IT’S CALLED BEING OPEN AND HONEST ABOUT YOUR FEELINGS AND HAVING ACTUAL CONVERSATIONS WHERE YOU FEEL SAFE ENOUGH TO SAY WHAT’S ON YOUR MIND AND DON’T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT BEING TALKED DOWN TO OR ABUSED.

IT’S CALLED FUCKING COMMUNICATION, ASSHOLES. IF YOU CAN’T COMMUNICATE WITH YOUR PARTNER YOU NEED TO GET OUT OF THAT RELATIONSHIP ASAP.

Like, maybe what she said did seem a little over-friendly, but it’s PRETTY OBVIOUS that she’s not interested in Taylor, and it’s also PRETTY OBVIOUS that Taylor isn’t interested in her. The fact that Christian can’t seem to handle Ana having any kind of friendship with guys is REALLY ALARMING and he needs to back the fuck up and let Ana be friends with who she wants.

Anyway.

Ana goes to her room and finds all of her stuff has been moved to Christian’s bedroom, all her clothes and her computer and everything, which is a step in the right direction, I suppose, although I think it’s too soon for the two of them to be living together completely.

Christian comes back after talking with Taylor, and Ana starts talking about how she plans to go to work tomorrow.

“But Leila–she’s out there,” he pauses. “I don’t want you to go to work.”
What? “That’s ridiculous, Christian. I have to go to work.”
“No, you don’t.”
“I have a new job, which I enjoy. Of course I have to go to work.” What does he mean?
“No, you don’t,” he repeats, emphatically.
“Do you think I am going to stay here twiddling my thumbs while you’re off being Master of the Universe?”
“Frankly…yes.”

[fun fact, Master of the Universe was the original title of the Twilight Fan Fiction that 50SoG is based on]

In other news…

fuck you aquaman

So basically Christian is a dick who doesn’t want Ana to leave the house ever.

I get it, you’re worried about her.

But LET HER GO TO FUCKING WORK.

The president has HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WANTING TO KILL HIM ON ANY GIVEN DAY, and he still goes outside and does things. Do you think Michelle Obama ever goes “you’re not allowed to leave the house today because I said so. Screw all your other responsibilities.”

Like, whatever, it’s one girl with a gun. Just send a security guard with Ana when she goes to work, and Ana will be fine. Stop being such a fucking psycho, Christian.

What does he mean? He’s going to support me? Oh, this is beyond ridiculous–I’ve known him for what–five weeks?

ru paul this

YES. THANK YOU.

FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER IN ALL OF HISTORY, ANASTASIA STEELE ACCURATELY ASSESSES HER LIFE AND CHOICES.

His mouth presses into a grim line, as I place my hands on my hips. I am not budging on this. Who the fuck does he think he is?
“I don’t want you going to work.”
“It’s not up to you, Christian. This is not your decision to make.”

amen

Did Ana just start taking magic drugs that make her stand up for herself? WHAT IS HAPPENING.

“Sawyer will come with you.”
“Christian, that’s not necessary. You’re being irrational.”

AAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnndddd I take it back Ana’s being stupid again.

Not letting you go to work is VERY irrational.

Sending someone with you to protect you because there’s a gun-toting crazy girl out there stalking you…that’s PRETTY FUCKING RATIONAL.

It’s called COMPROMISE, ANA. That term you’ve been throwing around every 5 seconds. You need to meet Christian in the middle, especially because he’s actually proposing something that makes sense.

Christian then threatens to “keep” Ana in the house, although he fails to explain how he would actually do that.

This relationship is 50 Shades of Horrible.

And then Ana agrees to take Sawyer with her and suddenly everything is just…fine? Nothing about these characters makes sense. I can’t recall a single time when I’ve been that mad at someone and then just magically forgiven them and been fine. I’m sure it happens every once in awhile, but these arguments are just not realistic by any means.

Christian takes Ana on a tour of his massive apartment, that sounds more like a house than an apartment, but I guess that’s what you get when you make $100,000 an hour.

They get to the billiards room, and they decide to play a game and place a bet. If Ana wins the game, Christian takes her back into the playroom, which he doesn’t want to do because the last time they were in there she left him. If Christian wins, it’s his choice.

[his choice will probably be murder-sex.]

They start playing pool, and apparently Ana is REALLY GOOD at the game, which is cool I guess.

Uuughhh and then they start getting all flirty and sexy on the pool table. For the love of god, how many times do you two have sex in one day?

Christian says if he wins the game, he’s going to spank Ana and then have sex with her on the pool table.

The chapter ends with a cliff-hanger, and we don’t know if Christian makes his shot.

-End of Chapter 10-

I hate this fucking book. All they do is have sex. There’s nothing meaningful about their relationship, they barely know each other, yet they claim to “love” each other after only knowing each other for 5 weeks. Christian is a controlling asshole and Ana can be just as unreasonable as he is, but she “loves” him so even when he threatens her and controls her, she refuses to leave and just accepts it because he’s “God’s Gift to Women” so she doesn’t think she’s even worthy of him in the first place.

Everything about their relationship is fucked up and sad. It’s almost to the point where it’s just plain sad and I feel bad making fun of how bad it is.

Almost. Not quite.

All I really want from this blog is for people to read it and realize that this relationship is BAD NEWS and it shouldn’t be idealized. I want people to realize that Christian Grey isn’t the perfect man, he isn’t even close. It’s fine if you enjoyed reading the books, but you need to be able to recognize how horrible the things that happen in this book are, how horrible the people are, how horrible the core relationship is.

Anyway.

See you guys tomorrow!

Hopefully!

Unless I decide to be horrible at blogging again!

 

One thought on “Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades Darker: Chapter 10 [Part 2]

Leave a Reply

