Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades Darker: Chapter 16 [Part 2]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs used in this post. If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

Again. Trigger Warning: If you are triggered by abuse, assault, or (implied) rape, you may not want to read this chapter of my liveblogs.

So Jack figures out that Christian is the reason Ana couldn’t go to New York with Jack, although Ana tries to deny it and tries to say she has no idea what he’s talking about.

“Well, I want you to think about something while I’m in New York. I gave you this job, and I expect you to show me some gratitude. In fact, I’m entitled to it. I had to fight to get you. Elizabeth wanted someone better qualified, but I–I saw something in you. So, we need to work out a deal. A deal where you keep me happy. D’you understand what I’m saying, Ana?”

She probably doesn’t understand, because she’s an idiot.

I still don’t understand though. Why do you need to work out a deal? What are you threatening Ana with, Jack? Are you going to take away her job? Are you fucking joking? Her boyfriend is the richest motherfucker in the universe. She doesn’t *need* a job, she just *wants* a job. I mean, yeah, it’ll be shitty if you fire her, but then she’ll SUE YOUR ASS. I really don’t understand the threat here, other than the immediate threat of rape and/or other bodily harm.

“Look at it as refining your job description, if you like. And if you keep me happy, I won’t dig any further into how your boyfriend is pulling strings, milking his contacts, or cashing in some favor from one of his Ivy League frat-boy sycophants.”

So what, Jack, you’re going to try and sue Christian? I say again: RICHEST MOTHERFUCKER IN THE UNIVERSE. You sue him, and he’ll have to pay some money, and the amount will probably be what he makes in a week, and he’ll be just fine.

I mean, I guess Christian could go to prison? Maybe? Idk, I don’t know if people go to prison for things like this.

So then Jack moves closer to Ana, and she can smell alcohol on him, which is nice. So he’s a creepy, horrible motherfucker AND drunk on top of it. How charming.

“You are such a tight-assed, cock-blocking, prick tease, you know, Ana,” he whispers through clenched teeth.

nope nope octopus

I AM PHYSICALLY REPULSED BY WHAT I AM READING.

THAT MIGHT BE THE SINGLE MOST DISGUSTING THING YOU CAN SAY TO SOMEONE.

GROSS GROSS GROSS GROSS GROSS.

Eugh. I feel like I need to go take a shower to wash the gross off.

He’s closer now. I am waiting to make my move. Ray will be proud. Ray taught me what to do. Ray knows his self-defense. If Jack touches me–if he even breathes too close to me–I will take him down.

yes JLaw

FUCK YEAH, BITCHES.

GONNA MURDER JACK IN THE BALLS.

TIME TO SHOW US YOUR SECRET BAD-ASS SKILLS, ANA.

“Look at you.” He gives me a leering look. “You’re so turned on, I can tell. You’ve really led me on. Deep down you want it. I know.”

Wow…that sounds like something I’ve heard before…like it’s a lyric in a really popular song right now?

OH WOW THAT’S ALMOST THE EXACT QUOTE.

IT’S LIKE THAT SONG IS REALLY GROSS AND CREEPY AND IS A BIG STEAMING PILE OF RAPE-CULTURE.

So basically, Robin Thicke is Jack Hyde.

“No, Jack. I have never led you on.”
“You have, you prick-teasing bitch. I can read the signs.”

READ THIS SIGN, ASSHOLE:

stop

 

Reaching up, he gently strokes my face with the back of his knuckles, down to my chin. His index finger strokes my throat, and my heart leaps into my mouth as I fight my gag reflex. He reaches the dip at the base of my neck, where the top button of my black shirt is open, and presses his hand against my chest.
“You want me. Admit it, Ana.”

Ugh I’m going to puke. This is so gross and disturbing. Miss James actually did a pretty good job with this scene, because she’s creating all the right emotions in me, the reader. Too bad it took her A BOOK AND A HALF to get there. And this chapter is FAR from over.

Keeping my eyes firmly fixed on his and concentrating on what I have to do–rather than my mushrooming revulsion and dread–I place my hand gently over his in a caress. He smiles in triumph. I grab his little finger, and twist it back, pulling it sharply down backward to his hip.
“Arrgh!” He cries out in pain and surprise, and as he leans off balance, I bring my knee, swift and hard, up into his groin, and make perfect contact with my goal. I dodge deftly to my left as his knees buckle, and he collapses with a groan onto the kitchen floor, grasping himself between his legs.
“Don’t you ever touch me again,” I snarl at him. “Your itinerary and the brochures are packaged on my desk. I am going home now. Have a nice trip. And in the future, get your own damn coffee.”

OH

MY

GOD.

oh shit wrestler

 

that was awesome emma watson

 

HOLY. SHIT.

ANASTASIA STEELE WAS JUST SUPER BADASS.

AND SHE DIDN’T GET DAMSELED. SHE WAS PUT IN A DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SHE USED HER STRENGTH AND HER BRAIN TO GET HERSELF OUT OF IT WITHOUT NEEDING HELP FROM A DUDE.

I mean, that does nothing to redeem the rest of these books, but this scene…this scene has been pretty awesome. By far the best scene of the series so far.

That

was

awesome.

2 thoughts on “Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades Darker: Chapter 16 [Part 2]

Leave a Reply

