Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades Freed: Chapter 7 [Part 5]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs used in this post. If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

Jesus, FIVE parts? This chapter is insane.

Anyway.

Ana starts protesting, saying she can’t do it, and Christian is just like “lol I ran businesses at the age of 21.” YEAH WELL MAYBE ANA ISN’T LIKE YOU, ASSHOLE. MAYBE SHE DOESN’T WANT TO RUN A BUSINESS. I get it, he’s trying to do something nice, but this is still INSANE.

“You love a good book. You couldn’t leave your job while we were on our honeymoon. You read how many manuscripts? Four?”
“Five,” I whisper.
“And you wrote full reports on all of them. You’re a very bright woman, Anastasia. I’m sure you’ll manage.”

annoyed with paper

So…you’re saying her qualifications consist of…the fact that she reads books…and the fact that she did a TINY amount of work while on her honeymoon? 5 manuscripts in 3 weeks is LITERALLY NOTHING. I was an editor for my college’s literary magazine, and I read the equivalent of 5 manuscripts in probably a single week, on top of writing between 15-30 (and often more) pages for my 4 classes, AND running one-on-one tutoring sessions twice a week for 2 hours. FIVE MANUSCRIPTS IN 3 WEEKS ISN’T THAT IMPRESSIVE. IT ALSO DOESN’T MAKE YOU QUALIFIED TO RUN A GODDAMNED BUSINESS. ARE YOU ACTUALLY PSYCHOTIC? DO YOU EVEN KNOW HOW BUSINESSES WORK?

Also, I’d like to point out that I’ve only seen Ana read like 3 books in the entirety of this series. I read more books in 3 days than she does in 3 months. You don’t see anyone throwing publishing companies at me, now do you? Also, jesus, the girl JUST LEARNED HOW TO USE EMAIL. She didn’t have an email address, nor did she really know how to use a computer, until like A YEAR AGO. She can’t run a business! God I hope this idea fails horrible. I would love SO MUCH to read a book all about how Ana runs this publishing company into the ground. Of course, that’s not going to happen. More than likely she will miraculously do a splendid job and it will be the best publishing company in the world within 2 months of her owning it. Because this isn’t an actual story, this is all just wish-fulfillment, and this whole story exists in a world where only good things happen to people who don’t deserve them.

Ughhh. I hate this so much.

Ana starts laughing, because she’s so baffled and stressed out by this whole scenario, and Christian somehow turns that into something sexual? But Ana tells him “Don’t even think about it,” thank god.  I really don’t want to read about them fucking on her desk in the middle of her work day.

“You can fuck me seven shades of Sunday this evening. But not now. Not here!”

Ugh. I don’t want to read the “seven shades of Sunday” section, but I know that’s what’ll be coming in the next chapter.

Christian says something and refers to Ana as “Ms. Steele” again.

“For heaven’s sake, Christian. If it means so much to you, I’ll change my name!”

Way to stick to your guns there, Ana. Good job. So proud of you. It’s so good to know that you still have no self-confidence and refuse to stand up for yourself even when you have very sound, logical reasons to back yourself up. Wow. This chapter is so encouraging.

too old for this shit

 

It’s just so discouraging to see Ana back down from something that was perfectly reasonable. It makes sense for her to keep her name for a number of reasons, but all Christian has to do is whine at her and make her feel bad and make her feel like she’s done something wrong and WHOOPS all of her resolve goes out the window. I don’t think Ana has ever stuck to her guns for a full chapter. She always gives in by the end, because she has no backbone, and because Christian is a manipulative asshole.

So done with this. So. Done.

Christian acts like he just won some major victory, and is all happy and cheerful all of a sudden. Man, all I wanted was a logical discussion about this problem, but no, all I get is Christian being an asshole and Ana giving in. Fuck this book, man. Fuck it so hard.

Christian finally fucking leaves Ana’s office.

I lay my head on my desk, feeling like I’ve been run over by a freight train–the freight train that is my beloved husband.

DUMP. HIS. ASS. You shouldn’t feel like you got run over by a freight train every time you have a disagreement with your husband. That’s so fucked up I don’t even…ugh. I don’t even know what to say to this anymore, other than FUCKING STOP IT.

When Ana gets in the car to go home, she’s pretty sassy with Christian. Christian deserves it, but it’s a little too late for this, Ana. Christian, of course, doesn’t really understand why Ana’s mad at him. Christian never does. Apparently neither does Ana?

I don’t understand why I’m so mad at him–but I am.

IT’S BECAUSE HE DOESN’T RESPECT YOUR OPINION, YOUR AUTHORITY, OR YOUR AUTONOMY AS A PERSON. HE SEES YOU AS HIS PROPERTY AND HE NEVER LISTENS TO YOU WHEN YOU DISAGREE WITH HIM.

WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND WHY YOU’RE MAD AT HIM.

They finally get home and Ana starts drinking. What a good way to deal with your problems. JUST FUCKING TALK TO EACH OTHER, YOU STUPID DICKS. IT’S NOT THAT HARD. IT’S CALLED COMMUNICATION. LEARN IT.

“Talk to me,” he murmurs.
“What’s the point? You don’t listen to me.”

BOOM. SHOTS FIRED!

Christian tries to say that that isn’t true, but we all know that’s bullshit. He asks if it’s about her name.

“Yes and no. It’s how you dealt with the fact that I disagreed with you.” I glare up at him, expecting him to be angered.
His brow furrows. “Ana, you know I have…issues. It’s hard for me to let go where you’re concerned. You know that.”

HAVING MENTAL ISSUES DOES NOT GIVE YOU LEAVE TO BE AN ABUSIVE PIECE OF SHIT TO YOUR WIFE, ASSHOLE. IF YOU CAN’T CONTROL YOUR “ISSUES” LONG ENOUGH TO HAVE A FRANK, HONEST DISCUSSION WITH YOUR WIFE, YOU SHOULDN’T HAVE GOTTEN FUCKING MARRIED. If he recognized that he was acting like an asshole because of his issues, he should have also been able to counteract those issues by saying “Ana, my traumatic past and my current mental issues are making it really hard for me to have this discussion with you. It might be best if we had this discussion with my therapist present, so he could help me work this out.”

BUT NO. CHRISTIAN JUST WENT FULL STEAM AHEAD AND ACTED LIKE A JERK, LIKE ALWAYS.

So.

Fucking.

Done.

“Don’t be mad. You’re so precious to me. Like a priceless asset, like a child,” he whispers, a somber reverent expression on his face.

NO. THAT DOES NOT MAKE THINGS BETTER. THAT IS NOT A NICE THING TO SAY. He basically just said “Aww, sweetheart, I care as much about your thoughts and opinions as I do about the thoughts and opinions of my cars and my future babies. In that I don’t care at all, because children are often too young to have formed logical opinions about things, and cars don’t have brains, apparently.”

STOP TREATING HER LIKE LESS THAN A PERSON. SHE IS YOUR WIFE, YOUR EQUAL, YOUR PARTNER. SHE IS NOT SOMETHING YOU CAN OWN, SHE IS NOT A POSSESSION. SHE IS A GODDAMNED HUMAN BEING WHO DESERVES RESPECT.

Also it’s fucked up that he’s comparing her to a child because he wants to fuck her like every 5 seconds, so…yeah.

“I’m neither of those things, Christian. I’m you’re wife. If you were hurt that I wasn’t going to take your name, you should have said.”

BOOM! Except you also should have mentioned that you weren’t going to take his name at work BEFORE you got married, so he could then express his feelings about that and you 2 could discuss it…so Ana you’re not entirely innocent in this scenario, sorry.

Oh, good. How does Christian respond to this statement from Ana? Is he going to respect her opinions? Is he going to continue this open, honest discussion with her so they can solve this problem?

He straightens suddenly, still frowning, and glances quickly at his wristwatch. “The architect will be here in just under an hour. We should eat.”

WOW! WHAT A RESPONSE! It’s almost like he 100% doesn’t give a shit about Ana’s opinions or feelings!

computer smash

 

There aren’t enough words in the English Language to describe how fucking done I am at this point. Oh my goodness.

Ana’s train of thought is instantly derailed as she thinks about how much she hates the architect who is remodeling their house, a woman named Gia Matteo. She tries to say the conversation isn’t finished, but Christian doesn’t think there’s anything left to discuss, apparently.

“Anastasia, if you’re still angry with me, take it out on me in bed later.”

NO. FUCK YOU. THAT DOESN’T SOLVE ANY PROBLEMS. USING SEX AS A WEAPON IS NOT A THING THAT YOU SHOULD DO IN HEALTHY RELATIONSHIPS. SEX IS NOT A PUNISHMENT. FUCK YOU. FUCK THIS. FUCK EVERYTHING.

Why can’t they just have a discussion! Why can’t they just share their opinions like normal fucking people?! WHY IS CHRISTIAN GREY SUCH A FUCKING PSYCHOPATH?!?

The two of them eat food, while Ana silently seethes, and then Christian leaves to go make some phone calls. We get a few pages of Ana thinking about how mad she is at Christian, and then she hatches some kind of sneaky plan, where she puts on extra make-up and brushes her hair and undoes the top 2 buttons of her top? I guess this is supposed to be her way of dealing with Gia Matteo, who constantly flirts (or tries to flirt) with Christian. This sounds like a great idea. (sarcasmmmmm)

Miss Matteo arrives, aaaand that’s where the chapter ends.

-End of Chapter Seven-

I don’t even…how did E.L. James fit so much bullshit into a single chapter? I’m honestly pretty impressed, I didn’t know it was possible to write something that infuriating.

So I’m not sure when the next chapter will go up, but I’ll hopefully get it out either this week or next week. No promises though, since you guys should all know how bad I am at keeping promises when it comes to posting dates.

Thanks again for reading! I hope you’re all as infuriated as I am by this bullshit. Happy Monday, y’all.

2 thoughts on “Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades Freed: Chapter 7 [Part 5]

  1. glad to see you back. i’ve been reading a few other dissections of this pile of tripe and what you said at the beginning of this chapter is pretty common – total burnout and long breaks away because it’s so so so bad in so many ways, and it gets worse the further you get into it.

    hugs for you. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades Freed: Chapter 7 [Part 5] | 50 Shades of Grey

Leave a Reply

