Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades Freed: Chapter 10 [Part 2]

[disclaimer: I don’t own any of the gifs used in this post. If you see a gif that you created and would either like credit for it or would like it taken down, please let me know.]

I’m still pretty enraged by how the last post ended. I was going to try and fit this whole chapter into a single post, but after that bullshit…I had to take a break. So I drank some beer and watched some baseball and tried not to think about how the man that thousands of women (and men, I’m sure) glorify is just a disgusting, horrible, manipulative, abusive bastard, and how that character is actively romanticizing abuse, and how romanticizing abuse can potentially put a lot of people in some very dangerous positions.

Ugh. This book is literally the most infuriating thing I’ve ever read or experienced.

Anyway.

Christian tells Ana to go back to sleep, because he’s got “things to do” and he’s still mad at her, and I guess this is supposed to be like the start of them making up or something? But really it just seems like Christian is still being a giant ball of shit, because he literally can’t avoid the true shittiness of his nature.

Ana goes back to sleep, and wakes up to Christian still being distant and mad at her. Christian goes to take a shower, and Ana follows him in there, hoping to get him to be less mad.

She tries to start some sexy shower times, but Christian says no, which makes Ana literally freak out, because he’s never turned her down before.

FUN FACT: You shouldn’t try to use sex to fix your relationship. If you’re having a fight, you should TALK ABOUT IT, you shouldn’t try to fuck until the problem goes away.

But then you can’t blame Ana for thinking that way, because that’s literally how her and Christian have always solved problems. and Ana’s never known anything other than Christian, so you can’t really expect her to know how to actually handle this situation.

Ana tries to get Christian to talk about it, and she says he’s overreacting, which makes Christian lose it a little bit.

“Overreacting?” he snarls. “Some fucking lunatic gets into my apartment to kidnap my wife, and you think I’m overreacting!”

Oh, so apparently he IS mad about Hyde breaking into the apartment? But then why is he directing his anger at Ana? This doesn’t make any sense.

“Christian, I wasn’t here.” I try to appease and reassure him.
“I know,” he whispers opening his eyes. “And all because you can’t follow a simple, fucking request.”

fuck this thing godzilla

Request: “an act of asking politely or formally for something.”

Order: “an authoritative command, direction, or instruction.”

WHEN DID YOU EVER FUCKING ASK POLITELY, CHRISTIAN.

ALSO.

THE THING ABOUT REQUESTS IS THAT YOU’RE NOT FORCED TO OBEY THEM.

YOU CAN SAY NO TO A REQUEST.

YOU CAN SAY “FUCK YOU” TO A REQUEST.

YOU CAN SAY “FUCK YOU, CHRISTIAN, I’M GOING OUT WITH MY GODDAMNED BEST FRIEND, AND YOU CAN’T STOP ME BECAUSE I’M A GROWN-ASS ADULT” TO A REQUEST.

ANA ISN’T FUCKING BOUND TO OBEY YOU, YOU GODDAMNED NIGHTMARE OF A PERSON. SHE’S NOT A FUCKING DOG.

SHE WENT OUT WITH HER FRIEND, SHE DIDN’T FUCKING POOP ON YOUR FAVORITE SUIT.

ARE WE SUPPOSED TO VIEW THIS AS A LOGICAL TRAIN OF THOUGHT? BECAUSE IT’S JUST NOT.

THIS IS MAYBE THE LEAST LOGICAL THING I’VE EVER READ.

FUCK.

Christian leaves the shower to go get dressed. By the time Ana is done showering, Christian is already dressed and in his office. Ana isn’t allowed in, apparently. Christian is probably keeping more secrets from Ana, like how he kept the severity of the situation a secret from her, and then just expected her to blindly follow instructions.

I can’t even put my rage into words, you guys. I don’t think I’ve ever been this mad at this series.

Oh jesus. And then Christian gets mad at Ana for wanting to go to work. SHE HAS A JOB, YOU FUCK-FACE. LET HER DO WHAT SHE FUCKING WANTS TO DO.

He also refuses to let her drive her own car to get to work. I think she’s driven her car maybe 2 times.

HE ALSO REFUSES TO EVEN KISS HER GOODBYE? CHRISTIAN WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU EVEN MAD AT HER FOR.

I swear to fucking god. If King Joffrey and Christian Grey were both standing in front of me, and I had a loaded crossbow, I’d shoot Christian Grey in a heartbeat. At least everyone in GoT acknowledges how shitty Joffrey is. No one ever really acknowledges how much of a horrible person Christian is. We’re just supposed to accept it as part of his personality, like a fun little quirk, the way some people make weird sounds when they sneeze.

I just want Kate to come riding in on a beautiful white stallion, and she’s just going to be like “Christian, you’re a fucking psychopath, and I hope you die, and I hope you never get to abuse anyone ever again, but GUESS WHAT I’m taking my friend, because you don’t deserve her, and she doesn’t deserve to be mistreated by you any more.”

And then Kate and Ana gallop off into the sunset and live happily ever after.

But that’s not what happens. Instead, Ana leaves for work, and finds a crowd of paparazzi outside of her office, because apparently Christian Grey is a big deal, and people care about him and what happens to him or whatever.

Elizabeth, a woman who Ana works with (though I’m not sure what Elizabeth actually does…), comes in to check on her in the afternoon, to see how she’s doing. It seems pretty routine, but Ana is all weirded out about it? I guess Ana isn’t used to having women that care about her (other than Kate). It seems like Ana just likes to hate 98% of the women in her acquaintance.

Ana gets an email from Christian, telling her that Detective Clark wants to meet with her at her office at 3 PM. Apparently Detective Clark couldn’t contact Ana herself. Also, apparently Christian doesn’t know how to use a fucking phone.

UUUUUUGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHH AND THEN ANA STARTS FEELING BAD FOR CHRISTIAN. OH, POOR CHRISTIAN, HE WAS SO WORRIED. POOR CHRISTIAN, HE CAUGHT A REALLY LATE FLIGHT BACK.

Oo…but then Ana has a thought. Did Christian leave New York because he was mad at Ana for being out with Kate (which would mean that he left before hearing about Hyde), or did he leave once he heard about the situation at the apartment?

I swear to fucking god, if he left because Ana went out with her friend, I will personally eat a large, spicy burrito and shit in E.L. James’ mailbox.

Ana emails Christian to ask him about it. He’s all weird and avoids the question, and she totally calls him out on it. He doesn’t respond. This is Ana’s reaction, via email:

I will take your silence as an admission that you did indeed return to Seattle because I CHANGED MY MIND. I am an adult female and went for a drink with my friend. I did not understand the security ramifications of CHANGING MY MIND because YOU NEVER TELL ME ANYTHING.

She ends the email by saying: “You are not the only one who is fucking pissed. Okay?”

amen

As happy as I am about Ana standing up to him, I know it won’t last. Also, instead of sending him an angry email, she should be leaving his ass behind, because he’s no good for her. He’s no good for anyone.

Of course, rather than taking her email seriously, Christian pretty much blows it off, because he doesn’t seem to think that Ana’s rage is equal to his, and therefore barely deserves his consideration.

As ever, Mrs. Grey, you are forthright and challenging in e-mail.
Perhaps we can discuss this when you get home to OUR apartment.
You should watch your language. I am still fucking pissed, too.

YOU SON OF A BITCH.

YOU CALL HER OUT ABOUT SWEARING? SERIOUSLY? YOU CAN’T TAKE TWO SECONDS TO ACTUALLY THINK ABOUT HER ANGER AND RESPOND APPROPRIATELY, INSTEAD YOU BASICALLY ACT LIKE A 12 YEAR OLD ON THE INTERNET AND SAY “WATCH YOUR LANGUAGE.”

YOU ARE IGNORING HER (VERY REASONABLE) ANGER, BECAUSE YOU DON’T SEEM TO SEE HER AS AN EQUAL. YOU NEVER RESPECT HER OPINIONS, YOU JUST TRAIPSE ALONG THROUGH LIFE, COMPLETELY OBLIVIOUS TO THE FACT THAT YOUR WIFE IS AN ACTUAL PERSON WITH ACTUAL FEELINGS, FEELINGS THAT DESERVE TO BE RESPECTED.

I’m so fucking done.

UGH.

Ana meets with the Detective, finds out that Hyde is in custody, and he’s being charged with some serious shit, though the detective won’t say what.

She goes home, and finds Christian wearing a tight black shirt and his “playroom” jeans, the ones he always wears when they go do kinky shit. Apparently the top button is undone.

IF HE TRIES TO SOLVE THIS ARGUMENT USING SEX, I AM GOING TO LITERALLY THROW MY COMPUTER INTO AN OCEAN, AND THEN I’M GOING TO PUNCH A SHARK IN THE MOUTH.

“Good to have you home. I’ve been waiting for you.”

-End of Chapter 10-

I literally can’t handle this book. I can’t explain to you guys how mad I am right now. I just can’t believe that people actually defend this serious, like it’s some kind of wonderful thing.

This is why I needed to read these books. Because I want to know every inch of these horrible nightmare books, so that no one can ever tell me “well you don’t know what you’re talking about, you’ve never read the books!”

I have read the books, my friends. I’m reading them a second time for this blog (though I barely remember them from the first read-through). And let me tell you something…these books are an atrocious assault on literature, on society, on women, on everyone who has ever breathed.

These books glorify abuse. These books teach you to solve your problems using sex and manipulation. These books teach you that men (specifically Christian Grey) are better than women, and that kind of thinking is ACTUALLY DANGEROUS.

So the next time you hear someone defending these books, or you see someone parading them around like they’re some wonderful gift to humankind…you show them this chapter. You ask them to explain how this chapter isn’t full of abusive language and manipulation. You ask them to explain how they can read this chapter and still say that Christian and Ana’s relationship is a healthy one.

And on that note…I need a goddamned drink. I hope you all have a lovely week, and I’ll (hopefully) post again next week.

2 thoughts on “Caitlin Liveblogs Fifty Shades Freed: Chapter 10 [Part 2]

  1. There are many who threaten to kill those whose writing upsets them. But not you. You threaten to eat spicy, gassy food, and then leave them a present. I really wish you would, so we could all see James’s reaction.

  2. I’m sorry you’re having a hard time with it, but I’m not surprised. I took me 8 months to get through the first book, and part of the reason I’m reading the blog is so that I don’t actually have to read the second and third.

    It started off as funny but now it’s downright scary. I had this moment when you were describing her going to work and thought that maybe it WOULD end by her leaving him, since the whole thing is too oppressive. But it would be really scary for a woman in her situation–she is literally trapped there and I honestly think that her leaving would push him over the edge. Except, of course, the way E. L. James writes, Ana would skip out of his life and he’d trip on his expensive shoes and have a laugh and admit that he’s wrong and leave her alone forever, since NOTHING bad actually seems to happen to them.

    But in reality land, she would end up killed. From everything he’s said, if she leaves him, he would go to her house and beat her to death. He’d be crying at the end and saying he was sorry, but she would be dead. He has no emotional self-control. He wouldn’t be able to stop himself.

    Ugh.

Leave a Reply

